New Month-New Country! 8/1

Last night (Thursday 7/31) we slept outside on a wonderful desert night! iOwa and I grabbed some McDonalds and then had to pull a guard shift for an hour! Luckily it gave us enough time to make some beds for people out of duffle bags!

Since our whole company had to sleep outside and no real lodging was available… it gave us some time for some great photo ops!

Guard duty?

yup- we unloaded all of those! :)

yup- we unloaded all of those! 🙂

sleepy guards

duffle bag beds

to iraq 033

Finally! all downloaded! The last pic is me sleeping on my comfy bed! 

Early this morning (Friday) we reloaded all our duffles and hopped on the most uncomfortable plane ride! Government plane rides are no fun if you’re landing in them! (I’d much rather have jumped outta it) 🙂

Later Friday we were assigned a CHU… its pretty cool. Iowa (now my roommate) and I went to the PX and bought a rug for 150 and I bought a super awesome pillow and some cleaning supplies to clean our CHU with! The rest of the day was spent cleaning the thin layer of dust off our beds, walls, lockers and selves! I unpacked as much as I could and crashed for the night!

Published in: on August 1, 2009 at 7:19 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://400daysiniraq.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/new-month-new-country-81/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Stay safe and shoot straight! A hearty Semper Fi from a lowly Jarhead, but I offer it up just the same.

    Thanks for what you’re doing.

  2. I’m lovin’ all the photos. Do what you can.

    I’m pimping out your sheets…mu-ha-ha-ha!

  3. aw! your so nice to make beds! lol it looks Dussstttttyyyy!


Leave a Reply

