Community outreach

Wednesday we handed out candy to the Iraqi Orphans that came to our Base! We also gave four mini bundles my mom’s friend gave to us!

mini bundles my mom's friend sent us!

There were so many kids running and goofing around- I think the sewing kits will be put into good use sewing up patches in the knees of their pants!

This little girl was so cute! I asked her if I could take her picture and she turned and posed! She just got finished potato sack racing 🙂 (I caught someone in mid-hop in the background)

Iraqi kids LOVE pictures!

This little boy was SO funny! He would wonder around and come back to us for more candy!

Here he was playing with the ‘potato sack’ <that was actually a laundry bag>

O this was funny- The Iraqi kids were dancing and made everyone do a ‘stomp congo line’-type dance- Its amazing how little rhythm army people actually have!

I look stupid in the picture below- but I was in mid-dance with the little girl in yellow!

(Who kept asking me for bubble gum!)

The visit from the Orphanage was such a nice experience! It was kinda weird seeing children after 4 months of not being around them! But the little people were so much fun and it made me miss the three little boogers I use to babysit! 

This guy also wrote about the same Orphan visit- what a small world!

Published in: on September 26, 2009 at 4:20 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://400daysiniraq.wordpress.com/2009/09/26/community-outreach/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. cute!

  2. you should give them healthy snacks.. your gonna make us pay for their dental as well down the road.. tisk tisk

  3. I keep coming back and finding new pictures, lol. The kids are darling, I bet they had a great day too. You look like you were having fun!

  4. Thank you for all that you ladies have done to provide a safe and happy experience for the children We, The Old Mother Hubbards, are so grateful to have the opportunity to help. There are several of us who are serious – we would like to know who the next coordinator for the orphanage and to have lists of what the children need – I know I didn’t send enough blankets for every child to have one of their own…I’d like to fix that…and many of us have children, or grandchildren, who are growing out of clothes all the time. Yes, we could donate them to Goodwill – but so can millions of others. We would like to help these particular children, now, when they need it.

  5. […] here’s the link. Swan posted some photos from the visit this week by the […]

  6. You’re doing a great job. God Bless you all!

  7. Followed the link from IBOL… Could you please send more info about the Old Mother Hubbards? Military wife (retired) with stuff to give and a desire to “pay it forward” for all the great experiences we had living overseas.

  8. Please keep us informed of any needs that the children at the orphanage might have. We from Art La Flamme’s brigade of IBOL’s want to help these children.

  9. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,


Leave a Reply

