Day 9- Heading to Stewart Island

Today was a lot of traveling from here to there- and stopping at little spots for picture ops!

To start the day off, I had a Chai Latte to cure my hangover! We went out again last night… I honestly love this place! All the hostels are connected to bars!

(….theres no worrying about getting ‘home’)

The weather was similar to yesterday’s…. nasty looking in the morning… and GORGEOUS after lunch!

A real-life light house!

It was a longer walk then it looks!

But I stopped and took random pictures.. of course!

After lunch I was dropped off to catch a ferry to Stewart Island!

The ferry ride was nice… but a little long… but the scenery was (like everywhere else) GREAT!

Can you see the white chain looking thing next to the white house? The South Islanders made a chain that connected their Island to Stewart Island- so little  Stewart Island wouldn’t float away.

(I’ve got a picture of where the chain connects to the Island too!)

On the Island! (Water is was WAY cold)

After a busy day of traveling I hung out in my condemned little room at the hostel and later went on a 4 hour hike!

Published in: on November 29, 2009 at 6:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://400daysiniraq.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/day-9-heading-to-stewart-island/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t see the chain, but HOW CUTE is that!?

  2. Loves me some pictures! I’m glad your trip was successful, and was worth the decision!


Leave a Reply

